Young Pathologists' Section

In 1996, the Texas Society of Pathologists initiated an effort to involve young pathologists in the activities and
governance of the Society. In 1997, the House of Delegates approved the formation of a Young Pathologists’ Section.

Mission Statement

The mission of the Young Pathologists' Section is to:

  • Facilitate the growth and development of young pathologists in the state of Texas.
  • Provide a forum through which young pathologists can influence the profession.
  • Refine the skills necessary to provide the highest quality of patient care in the practice of pathology.


The Young Pathologists' Section is composed of:

  • All current Junior members of the Texas Society of Pathologists.
  • All current Active members who have become eligible for certification by the American Board of Pathology
    within the past ten (10) years and/or who are less than forty-five (45) years of age.



Teresa Duran, MD (Chair-Elect)
Clinical Pathology Associates
San Antonio, Texas
[email protected]u
  Riyam Zreik, MD (Chair-Elect)
Baylor Scott & White Health
Temple, Texas
[email protected] 
  Suntrea Hammer, MD (Secretary)
UT Southwestern Medical Center
Dallas, Texas
[email protected]


Nahir Cortes Santiago, MD, PhD
Baylor College of Medicine

Megan Ketcham, MD
Houston Methodist

Eric Hirsch, MB, BCh, BAO
UT Health Science Center at San Antonio

Grant Williams, MD
San Antonio Uniformed Services
Health Education Consortium (SAUSHEC)

Erin Garrett, MD
Baylor Scott & White Health

Yumi Kojima, DO
MD Anderson Cancer Center

Adam Booth, MD
UT Medical Branch

David Metter, MD
Baylor University Medical Center

David Saulino, DO
UT Health Science Center at Houston

Jodi Music, MD
UT Southwestern Medical Center



© Texas Society of Pathologists